Just In Time For Christmas! A relaunch of my book

So the past month has been pretty hectic, trying to to scrounge up some work for the upcoming year and get some things together that I’ve had on the back burner for a while. There are two things, in particular, that I’ve spent a lot of time on. One is my new photo archive, Watershed Images. Click on the link here or the photo link on the sidebar to see what that’s all about. I’ll do a little write up here specifically for it later, but for now, it’s out there and ready for visitors. Secondly, and more exciting, if you notice, there’s a new link on the sidebar here to my book. While I was very proud of its original incarnation, there were a few things I wasn’t satisfied with. The big one was the title, and that’s a long story in and of itself.

Literally for years, I had this collection of short stories kept under a title I really liked, Tales of Ordinary Madness. Unfortunately, just as I was preparing to publish, I discovered this old German writer who already released a book of short stories called, you guessed it, Tales of Ordinary Madness. (There’s a movie by that same name as well, but that’s a different kettle of fish.) Needless to say, I was annoyed at that discovery. I thought and thought, and couldn’t come up with a suitable replacement, so I played with the wording a bit and released the book under the title Legends of Everyday Lunacy. Never much cared for it, honestly, so step one in reworking my book was finding a suitable title that I actually liked.

After many hours of self-debate, I finally settled on one; Bad Timing. Now, this isn’t a specific reference to any story (s) in the book, but it’s a general catch-all phrase that I think fits the tone very well. In the past few years, the phrase bad timing has some very specific meaning for me. Due to certain things, that phrase truly resonates with me. If nothing else, I’ve learned exactly how important it is, and how much your life can change if your timing is bad. They’re not particularly fond memories, but they are important and part of what makes me who I am. This title fits almost perfectly, I think. That, and the fact that I got to flex my Photoshop muscles in creating a warped and twisted clock image for the book’s cover. That’s just cool; very Outer Limits or Twilight Zone.

The other important changes are mostly style ones. I added five new stories to this version that weren’t in the original, stories that I left out initially, and regretted all the way. Now they’re back in, and the collection seems more complete. The book itself is printed on cream color paper as opposed to the bright white of the original, which just makes it look classier, I think, not to mention easier on the eyes of the reader. I also tweaked some things like the inner margins to keep the text better centered on the pages, and published this version under the imprint Watershed Publications. In the future, I most definitely will be using the Watershed Publications name to produce all sorts of interesting stuff. Keep watching.

And best of all, the distribution channels for the book are much better than the previous publisher, giving the new and improved book new and improved access to more possible buyers. Also, as we speak, I’m in the process of formating and creating versions for both the Apple iPad, which will be available through the iBook store, and for the Kindle reader, which will be available at Amazon.com. Nothing like multiple channels to get to where the readers are. I’ll provide links and keep everyone abreast of when they make their debut. I may even toss in an extra story or two for the digital editions, just to make them unique, especially considering that I don’t have to pay up for printing extra pages in an electronic format.

Anyway, here are a few links to find where it’s available. The most common is this one, its Amazon listing. Also, here is another link to an online storefront where you can buy a copy. On this one, by the way, I make a little more in royalties than through Amazon. And, in keeping with the new social nature of everything on the web, here is a link to the newly-created Facebook page for Watershed Publications, currently featuring links and info about the book’s new release. Like I said, there will be more forthcoming somewhere down the line, but for now, it’s a start.

Christmas is a great time to give the gift of reading to the people’s on your shopping list. Failing that, get ’em a gift card and a recommendation. The after Christmas shopping season is a great time to buy some books, too (insert shameless plug here). Have a great holiday season, and thanks for reading.

Published in: on December 6, 2010 at 10:32 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://watershedchronicle.wordpress.com/2010/12/06/just-in-time-for-christmas-a-relaunch-of-my-book/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

