We’re All Screwed!

Have you heard, the recession is over!  We’re in a recovery, woo hoo! I was reading the “good” news this morning while pouring $45 worth of gas into my car because the price has shot up almost 30 cents a gallon in the past month or so, while trying to figure out how in the hell I’m going to pay for timely skyrocketing fuel oil to keep myself and my dogs from freezing to death this winter.  At least they have heavy coats.

Besides the fact that the job market is still non-existent, and layoffs, wage freezes, furloughs and cutbacks still abound everywhere you look, the economy somehow managed to show a modest quarter of growth.  I guess that’s progress.  If we can keep that going and build off of it, then we might be all right.

Whoops,  I spoke too soon. Any progress we have or may make is going to be snuffed out in a big way by this catastrophic nightmare disguised as good public policy.  I don’t think I could sit down and come up with a more comprehensive plan to virtually destroy any and all possibility of a rebound than this waste of perfectly good trees (or pixels, as the case may be).

I am not a Republican, but I have to tell you, the best thing that can possibly happen to us as a country at this point is for the GOP to figure out a way to beat this horrid thing back into the black hole of good intentions and intentional money and power grabs it came from.  I’m not going to get into specifics with what I think is wrong with this possible legislation; I don’t have three weeks to sit here and list them all.  Let’s just say that I don’t really want to be spending most of paycheck for health insurance the rest of my life.  Some estimates claim that this bill could possibly triple insurance premiums in some places, and those may be extreme, but I don’t think so.  We are all going to get stuck with an enormous bill here in terms of higher taxes, lower wages, insane insurance premium costs, higher medical care costs and a significantly lower standard of living for everyone.

Way to go, Obama!  I guess change isn’t all its cracked up to be after all.  Sorry, had to rant there for a moment.  I’m going back to writing about the NBA.  Politics is just too depressing.

 

Published in: on October 29, 2009 at 6:50 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://watershedchronicle.wordpress.com/2009/10/29/were-all-screwed/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

